top of page

Music Review and Interview with Melk (EXPOSED VOCALS)


Originally Published By Exposed Vocals: https://exposedvocals.com/features/music-review-and-interview-with-melk/ Melk (Stephen Heuvel) is born in Suriname “a small and only Dutch speaking country in South-America” and moved to Miami, FL as a teenager. Both of Melk his parents are from suriname. His passion for music goes way beyond normal, as he always says “music is my life”. He devoted his life to rapping and writing songs at the age of 16, and has been fully determined ever since.

His style is versatile, he can rap about hustling and deep struggles everybody can relate to, switch it up and rap about the everyday club, party kind of lifestyle , and his lyrics are of the charts when it comes to female songs. He can also mix it up, and talk a little bit about all of the above and still make it sound real good.The artistic creativity level he on is something else. Overcoming barriers speaking English and Dutch doing the type of style of music is what makes him stand out from the rest with these catchy phrases and metaphors that will leave you wondering why you haven’t thought of that is definitely a good reason for him to be the next artist to watch. I haven’t met an Artist with his background yet so interesting and unheard of. NEW SINGLE: FILTHY WITH THE MOVEMENT

Melk’s delivery and lyrics are on point! This is the kind of track that really paints a picture and tells a story and that is what appeals to modern ears. This is the reason the Miami sound has indie music fans all over the world digging up emerging artists from this area; It’s a beguiling basement listen with the neighborhood’s ’90s patina still coating the music.Given the substantial media attention surrounding the recent killings of Michael Brown and Eric Garner by law enforcement, it can be hard to remember that not all police officers are bad. But the opposite proves just as true, however unpleasant the reality: not all police officers are good. Melk stresses this with Lyrics like: “pull me over for some shit – try’n to get me caught” The numbers don’t lie: nearly 50 percent of black people have “very little” confidence in local police to treat blacks and whites equally. The report also found that “70 percent of blacks say police departments around the country do a poor job in holding officers accountable for misconduct.” Listen to Melk’s new single “Filthy With The Movement” being played on Kiss 104.7 FM CLICK LINK: http://www.exposedvocals.com/features/mp3uploads/melk%20radio%20edit.mp3

Overall, this is a sick single that has “Miami” plastered all over it and by the way things are going for him, this track could catapult him to mainstream fame.

y HBdidit – Exposed Vocals Music Reviewer and Breaking News Contributor. EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: Exposed Vocals: How did you hear about Exposed Vocals? What made you decide to sign up? Melk: I heard about ya’ll being good at what ya’ll do so I followed ya’ll on Twitter and ya’ll approached me right away Exposed Vocals: So tell us your story. Where did you grow up? What made you decide to become an artist? Melk: I grew up most of my childhood in my native country “Suriname” which is the only Dutch speaking country in South-America (a neighboring country to Brazil) and moved to Miami, Florida right after I turned 20. My ambition for music, making music expressing feelings articulating them into well thought words and lines leaving people amazed and that desire for success and respect by admiration of my work and accomplishments is what I live breathe and sleep endlessly every single day, and most of all it all comes naturally. Becoming an artist was never a choice, it was more like a desire and addiction that became part of me, part of the person I am. Exposed Vocals: How did you come up with that name? What was your inspiration behind it? Melk: First let me admit “I love pretty women, a lot of pretty women, I mean who don’t right?”I guess my addiction to pretty women started earlier than most boys as well as my activity.Melk is actually Milk but spelled in Dutch.They had a saying back then “sharing Milk” similar to “beating the breaks off” , you knowwhat I mean? “SEX”!!I use to hang out with friends way older than I doing grown folk stuff constantly shouting“gotta share that Milk”. It was like my daily slogan, and before u know it my friends from back then started calling me Melk because I just couldn’t quit shouting it.Everybody followed up on it and people been calling me Melk ever since.I was about 12 when it all started. Exposed Vocals: What do you think about online music sharing? Do you ever give your music away for free? Why? Melk: Online music sharing is one of the reasons why this interview is possible, it’s the new age u dig, all the gatekeepers are replaced by toll bridges and new roads thanks to people like ya’ll (exposed vocals) and many similar organizations.So far I have given some of my music away for free, but there are various reasons to that, usually regarding the current campaign or purpose at that time, bringing a message forward or unit sales. Exposed Vocals: Since everyone was a start-up once, can you give any smaller or local bands or artists looking to get gigs and airplay some tips? Melk: If you serious about making a living doing music you gotta do more than just making music, you gotta know the rules of the game e.g. you can’t play basketball and not know what traveling or goaltending is. Study the rules of the game and stay informed. Exposed Vocals: Do you ever make mistakes during performances? How do you handle that? Melk: So far I haven’t made any, but if it ever occurs I’m professional enough to pick it right back up and proceed with the performance in a way fans wont even be sure whether it was a mistake or done intentionally as part of the performance. Exposed Vocals: Do you tour? Anything interesting happen on tour that you think our readers would enjoy hearing about? Melk: I haven’t gone on a tour yet but I’m negotiating as we speak. Exposed Vocals: Where do you usually gather songwriting inspiration? What is your usual songwriting process? Melk: My inspiration for writing songs comes from all the music I like, I just wanna be betterand do it big, real big, like the next big.It takes about 2 days for me to complete a full song. Exposed Vocals: Do you have a artist website? What online platforms do you use to share your music? Melk: I do have a website under my independent record label name Real Hustla Music Records representing me.You can check it out here>>> http://melkrhmm.wix.com/real-hustla-music You can check out more of my music on Soundcloud: CLICK LINK: https://soundcloud.com/milk-17​ You can check me out on Reverbnation as well https://www.reverbnation.com/melkrhm Exposed Vocals: What are some really embarrassing songs that we might find on your mp3 player? Melk: I’ll be bumbing to some old school hits once in a blue moon from top artist such as Kenny Rogers, Neil Diamond, Luther Vandross, Marvin Gay and top R&B hits from the 90’s such as Aliah, Keith Sweath, Ginuwine, and many more but the real embarrassing ones would be Britney Spears, BackStreet Boys, and The Spice Girls. LMFAO Exposed Vocals: If you were given half a million dollars and a year off, what would you do? How would you spend it? Melk: A year off for what? Being at work as an artist is like constantly being on vacation already, traveling, moving around, meeting people and making money living a dream is like a day off for the rest of my life.It’s like you want me to hop out of my dream for a year.It’s not about spending money to me, it’s about being wealthy spiritually and financially.don’t get me wrong I’ll blow money buying the finest things all day, but there is more to that, u dig? Exposed Vocals: Any planned studio upgrades? What are you working with now? Melk: Yeah I have been offered a recording contract by a major recording studio in D.C.that I’m considering. They’ve worked with top artist such as Wale, Drake, Lil Wayne, Rick Ross,T-Pain and many more.I’m currently in the process of releasing my first E.P. , the title fort that isn’t released yet either. Exposed Vocals: How do you find ways to promote your music? What works best for you? Melk: There are many sources to benefit from, but I choose to work with the ones who are more commited to getting artists results than the ones who worry more about their wallets and bank accounts. Exposed Vocals: If you could perform anywhere and with any artists (Dead or Alive) where and who would it be with? Why? Melk: RIP to my nigga 2Pac Amaru Shakur, me and him on stage at “The House Of Blues” is an automatic massacre, Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, Meek Mill, Drake, Rihanna, Katie Perry, Jhene Aiko, Snoop Dogg, Christina Millian, Chris Brown, Future. Me with any of these artists on stage at The Madison Square Garden is an automatic first degree murder.Picture Kevin Durant and Lebron James playing for the same team, that’s how it would be Exposed Vocals: So, what’s next? Any new upcoming projects that you want to talk about? Melk: After dropping my first E.P. I will be releasing some singles from my first Sophmore Albumwith it’s brilliant title that I won’t reveal yet until further notice.Currently I’m being approached by top music industry professionals that all wanna work with me on my next project and campaign so expect to hear a lot more from me in the next few months and after. Exposed Vocals: If you weren’t making music, what would you be doing? Melk: There’s a big possibility that I’d be doing sports (Basketball, Footbal, or Soccer) but the fact that I’m from the streets I can’t deny the possibility of being dead or in jail as well. Exposed Vocals: Do you remember buying your first album? Who was it? What was going through your head? Melk: The first album I bought was 2Pac’s “ThugLife” and “R U Still Down”My first thoughts were “this is something that touches me deeply” Exposed Vocals: How do you juggle the rest of your responsibilities while trying to stay ahead in your music life? Melk: I plan out my days as much as I can and add the right method in doing so.See what works and what doesn’t. Exposed Vocals: What should fans look forward to in 2015?: Melk: I’m in the process of going on tour and the best way for fans to stay in touch with meand be the first to know any updates, show dates, free tickets and merchandise is to sign up on my website so I can personally email you>>> http://melkrhmm.wix.com/real-hustla-music It is the fastest, easiest and most accurate way to be up to date with anything new regarding me. You can also follow me on Twitter>>> https://twitter.com/MelkRhm


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • insta logo
bottom of page